Can you keep a secret?

635891911151709650744661288_secret-

Daily Prompt 2/17/2016: Evasive Action

What’s the most significant secret you’ve ever kept? Did the truth ever come out?

This prompt is a tricky one.

Secrets are meant to be kept. Unverified information that are being passed to other people from another source other than the subject is called a rumor. Discussing to other people a private matter entrusted to you? I call it insensitivity and betrayal. Personally, I respect privacy because I also expect one on the other hand. Secrets could die with me unless the person owning them would brought them to light. I would scream my lungs out of annoyance when someone spills my plan for a friend’s surprise birthday ambush, neither could I ever tolerate my best friend who would tell the whole campus that I got a crush on my high school seatmate. I live to this golden rule in life:

img-thing

If someone tells you a secret, it simply means that you are one of the few people he/she invested the precious word ‘trust’. That person believed and trusted you afar from anybody who are less entitled. Being told a secret is both a delight and a burden. It is an honor to be entrusted such a private stuff, and delicate in a way that if you betray that person and spill the secret, relationships could be damaged and marred.

On a personal experience, the most significant secret that has been shared to me has already been exposed, at least not from my lips, but straight from her own. I promised I won’t tell the universe and I’m keeping my words forever, so please don’t expect me to tell you the story. The secret had been known, my friend chose to set free and I’m proud of her for being so brave and all. It was her secret anyway, so that the prerogative was always hers. I believe I do not have the authority to divulge anything other than my own business. And in that matter, a private and sensitive one.

So there you go. I can keep a secret.

2 thoughts on “Can you keep a secret?

  1. A secret is a big test. If one cannot keep one, they are probably not working in your best interest in most other areas as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

