In another life.

Daily Prompt 2/21/2016:The Road Less Traveled

Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.

One upon a time, I almost moved from Davao to Cebu. That was a decision out of impulse. I jumped into a work opportunity based on my own guts without considering other people’s opinion especially my family and my former boyfriend, now my husband. I was younger then, a fresh college graduate. I thought I was mature enough to make my own decision. I was ready to venture into a new journey. My employment and relocation papers were all set except that I forgot one thing along the way – informing my family about my plans. On my mind, it was not a big deal for them. I wanted to surprise them about what I have achieved actually. Sure, they were really happy about my great news, but they did not agree the part about me leaving. There were series of talks. There were lots of things to consider. I never thought it would be that complicated. Things were complicated which I chose not to discuss them one by one anymore. To cut it short, that time I realized that making a decision should not be done overnight. It takes prayers and consultation with peer or family.

Now, what if I pursued the move? I wonder who would I become. If I relocated to Cebu, life could be a bit unfamiliar. I won’t have a baby as adorable as Raffy. Yes, all babies are blessings from above. So, well, yes, I may have a baby or two as charming as Raffy, but having Raffy and her Dad is a different story. My life would be different I think. In another life, I maybe single as of the moment. Uncommitted and carefree, attending parties every weekend because I don’t have a child to take care of. I don’t have muffin top, stretch marks, and added pounds brought about by pregnancy. I won’t be chasing an uber energetic toddler while trying to finish the laundry. I won’t be changing dirty diapers and bed covers filled with biscuit crumbs and chocolate stains. More so, I think I have a different career aside from being a working mom. I envisioned a slicker me in a six-inch pumps working my a** off to the corporate ladder. I guess I have different set of friends.

I maybe pursuing a different hobby. I discovered my love for crafting when I became a wife and a mother. I think I am travelling a lot cause it’s always been my dream to go to different places and visit scenic spots. I guess I’m making a lot more money than I’m earning now. I may not be in Cebu anymore by now because working overseas was also one of my options. I would have not married my first love.

At some point, I realized what a good life I have right now. I couldn’t think of a much better lifetime than this. Things are simple and far from extravagant but spending time with my family is beyond extraordinary. Being a mother is the best thing that ever happened to me. It’s my best achievement so far and nothing could top that off.

2 thoughts on “In another life.

Leave a Reply

