Time is Life

time

Daily Prompt: Thanks, Hindsight

How is the year shaping up for you so far? Have your predictions come true, or did you have to face a curve ball or two?

It has been a month and a half since we counted down for the new year. Sigh! Time flies really fast. How’s the first 45 days of 2016? Honestly, a rough one. The family had to deal with difficult situations at the beginning of the year, but thanks God, we remain strong. Money matters is a common household dilemma in a third world country like Philippines. As a working mom, with a working husband, we’re glad we still able to make ends meet and save for the rainy days. At some point in our lives, couples has to face relationship trials that push our limits, but thanks to our loved ones for their unfailing support and encouragements. We are now more passionate than ever. Yes, 2016 is a year of drama, at least for the first few weeks of it.

Now, how about a reassessment to our New Year’s resolutions. Ouch! This will be painful.

Save, save, save. Lose weight. Exercise. Skip the soda. Read a book a month. And the list continues. You know what? This is such a shameful, spot on, a-slap-on-my-face prompt, because it made me realize how lazy I am so far. The first 45 days has gone with the wind along with my endless list of resolutions. One of the issues I feel so guilty of is my physical health. God, I haven’t lose my  post holiday calories yet, and here I am gaining another pound. I promised to run every morning and eat less at dinner to no avail. I’m still a soda fanatic, sweets advocate, and a stress eater. I always use my poor little girl as an excuse to everything that I am not able to accomplish. I can’t eat less because I’m still breastfeeding. I cannot run early in the morning because my baby girl will cry if I left her in bed that early. I cannot finish a book because all my energies are all used up in the day, caring for my baby and making a living. I’m guilt-ridden now and feel so sorry.

I think it’s time to push the button.

This prompt is a wake up call. I still have 320 more days to make things better. To regain self-worth, to reach health goals, and to be more financially aware and prudent. Gone are the dramas and excuses. This time, I think I have to be more optimistic, focused, and dedicated. There are 320 more precious days to live with in 2016. I have to make the most of it in a time-managed manner, and I will waste not even a second of it in procrastination. Now I realized this Alan Lakein thoughts about time:

“Time=Life, Therefore, waste your time

and waste of your life, or master your time

and master your life.”

Let’s get it on!

 

One thought on “Time is Life

Leave a Reply

